Pakistan defeated Zimbabwe in the first ODI

At Pindi Stadium, Pakistani captain Babar Azam won the toss and elected to bat first.

Pakistan had given Zimbabwe a target of 282 runs to win. In reply, Zimbabwe were bowled out for 255 runs.This is Pakistan’s seventh consecutive victory in ODI’s.

Imam-ul-Haq and Abid Ali started the innings for Pakistan and the first wicket partnership between these two players was 47 runs, when Abid Ali fell prey to LBW. Captain Babar Azam was also caught behind the wickets for 19 runs while Imam-ul-Haq was run out at 58 runs. Mohammad Rizwan and Iftikhar Ahmed were also guests of 14 and 12 runs respectively while Haris Sohail played an innings of 71 runs with the help of 6 fours and 2 sixes.

Babar Azam is leading the Pakistan cricket team for the first time in ODI’s, while national team vice-captain Shadab Khan could not participate in the first match due to injury. Imad Wasim and Faheem Ashraf played an aggressive game as the national team scored 281 runs with the loss of 8 wickets in 50 overs.

Haris Rauf made his ODI debut for Pakistan.

Zimbabwe played well in pursuit of the target, but did not play well in the last few overs. For Zimbabwe, Craig Ervine (41), BRM Taylor (112) and Wesley Madhevere (55) played brilliant innings.

In the last overs of Shaheen Afridi and Wahab Riaz, they were ferocious in their respective spells which lead to the demise of Zimbabwe’s batsmen. Shaheen Shah Afridi was particularly phenomenal in his game and gave the best of him.

Shaheen Shah Afridi took five wickets and Wahab Riaz four, while Imad Wasim took one wicket.

Pakistan has 1-0 lead in the series comprised of three matches. The second ODI of the series will be played on November 1st, 2020.